PDP gives room for Saraki, Tambuwal, Kwankwaso to contest party’s presidential ticket..


Emerging reports have it that Governor AminuTambuwal of Sokoto state, former governor of Kano state, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso and Senate president Bukola Saraki might contest the PDP presidential ticket ahead of the 2019 general elections.

Daily Trust reports that the Peoples Democratic Party had granted the trio such an opportunity to race for the presidential ticket after their defection from the All Progressive Congress.

Voice of Ndigbo gathered that the party also gave leeway to other returnees who wished to contest various offices to do so.

Speaking at the 81st National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting of the PDP on Thursday, August 2, in Abuja, the party’s national chairman, Prince Uche Secondus, said the returnees have equal rights as the existing members.

Secondus said: “Three more governors and some ministers are coming to our fold, they (APC government) are not aware. Security and economy have collapsed, they are ‎not aware. There are killings in different parts of the country, they are not aware. Until we reclaim power in 2019, they won’t be aware of anything.”

It was learnt that All other presidential aspirants on the platform of the party were present at the NEC except former vice president Atiku Abubakar.

Speaking at the event, Tambuwal said the PDP would resist any attempt to impeach Senate President Saraki, arguing that the law is clear in that regard.

Saraki urged all party leaders to return to their constituencies, open their arms and receive the numbers that would give the party victory in 2019.

ALSO READ:  Slave trade in Libya ??, FG summons Nigeria's ?? representatives in Libya..

Addressing newsmen at the end of the meeting, the PDP National Publicity Secretary, Kola Ologbondiyan, said the NEC approved the amendment of PDP laws to be in tandem with the Not Too Young to Run law to allow youths’ participation in electoral contest.

He said the NEC discussed the nomination processes for primaries, but said the date for primaries and sale of nomination forms was yet to be fixed.

Meanwhile, Voice of Ndigbo gathered that an All Progressives Congress lawmaker in Lagos state, Adedotun Adegbola, said politicians who defected from the party would not win in the 2019 elections.

Adegbola spoke with the on the sideline of Risikat Adegeye’s declaration to contest for the Amuwo Odofin federal constituency in the 2019 elections


You May Also Like